Ratings based on 66 verified reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Australia

Posted 12 Mar 2020
A great place to relax With its location in the rice fields
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Solo at Solo

Posted 25 Feb 2020 on Hotels
Great staff!
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 31 Jan 2020
The staff is friendly and helpful. They help you carry your luggage and send you down to and from Ubud central. However, the cleaniness in the room is unsatisfactory. There are worms and cockroach in the room when we arrived. There was wine stains in the fridge but never clean up. There is no cable TV and we can only watch DVD.
Comment from Hotel Management
6 Feb 2020 by Made, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for staying at Solo Villas and Retreat. Everybody loves the staff and the friendliness. We have notified housekeeping of the stain in your fridge and inspected all fridges immediately. Please note that you may have found insects from the surrounding rice fields but they were not cockroaches. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of Solo Villas and Retreat. Thank you for your feedback
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 6 Jan 2020
Rooms were very big and beautiful. Lovely location a bit away from the main street.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Beautiful Villa! Would stay again!

Posted 5 Jan 2020 on Hotels
The villas are BEAUTIFUL! Classic Balinese style high ceilings. Super spacious and I wasn’t expecting it to be! Large tub in the bathroom and the bathroom when you walk in is amazing. Pool looked great but we didn’t use it. Staff is very friendly. It is further away from city centre - maybe 15 min walk and it’s not accessible by car. Staff does offer to scooter you down to the city centre so that was great. Would stay again !
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 1 Jan 2020 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Amazing staff but infra is so-so

Posted 29 Dec 2019 on Hotels
The staff is amazing! Always cheerful and ready to help! Ubud is also an amazing neighbourhood, a must-see in Bali! However, the staff does not entirely compensate for the overall experience, and here is why: 1. There is no way to get to the hotel by car and you always need to call the hotel to for someone to pick you up by scooter. This is not a problem per se, but there was no indication of it when we booked our nights. 2. We had many issues with electricity, having to call staff 4 or 5 times to ask them to make everything work again. 3. All our showers were with cold water, except by the last one. God knows why. 4. It's not obvious in the pictures, but while there are walls to separate the bathroom from the kitchen/bedroom, the bathroom has no ceiling. Anything you do in there can be heard in the villa. Bring your headphones and companionship! 5. The hotel's website shows beautiful pictures of people walking through rice fields, but in reality the fields around the hotel are all dirty, with abandoned houses and trash all around. 6. There was some sort of animal in the roof trying to get into the villa. It made a lot of noise in the night.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 9 Dec 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
9 Dec 2019 by Putu, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Campbell river

Posted 4 Dec 2019
The property is located amongst rice fields and coconut trees and is very relaxing. It requires a short ride up a hill via scooter which staff are happy to do. Staff are very friendly. There is a pool on site, rooms are modern with air conditioning, and there is a great complimentary breakfast. There are two restaurants very close to the resort as well if you dont want to head down to the busy toirist area.
Comment from Hotel Management
9 Dec 2019 by Putu, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that Solo Villas and Retreat exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your lovely review.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 20 Nov 2019