Ratings based on 50 verified reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 17 Feb 2020 on Hotels
Very good location
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 23 Aug 2019
Access road to the property was horrible and similar was the parking situation. It took more than 45 minutes to get my car out. Room charges were exorbitant. The mattress was 'spring type' and hurt the back. Floor boards were squeaky. Staff was very helpful, especially the duty manager Mr. Arun. Food quality was great with a lot of variety.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 14 May 2019
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Bangalore

Posted 28 Dec 2018
Not a good one, basic amenities were not provided like hand towels, washroom was flooding though corrected later, very slow service restaurant
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 25 Dec 2018 on Hotels
The stay was not comfortable at all. 1. The rooms given to us didn't had a tea kettle and the room service didn't delivery tea as they were short of staff. 2. Got the TV working after multiple complaints. 3. Request for room heater was fulfilled after full 24 hrs of request 4. And to make the things ever more terrible, the security guard opened the side door of the room and came into our room at 11pm without even knocking or informing us. Ridiculous.. and to top it all answer given was that they were just checking the door lock
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 24 Dec 2018
Peaceful and relaxed place . Great food and staff General cleanliness was poor. Rooms were not cleaned on time . Bathroom was moldy
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Family visit

Posted 14 Nov 2018 on Hotels
Great stay
3 out of 5
by Davinder

Crowded Ooty

Posted 17 Apr 2017 on Hotels
Ooty town and the surrounding slopes (other than tea gardens) are littered with plastic and garbage. Nightmare traffic, poor road maintenance, and surging crowds - not what you expect at a getaway hill destination. Fern Hill resort was mixed - crowded, little noisy. The facility is clean, but needs better maintenance. The plumbing needs an upgrade, the TV didn't work, the window stays were broken. The espresso machine was not working for many days.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Disappointed.

Posted 6 Apr 2017
Felt like a prison. 5km from town. No pool, nothing to they arranged a pickup but the taxi was no show which caused too much stress
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Chennai, India

Average Hotel Experience

Posted 28 Mar 2017
Pros: Dining Service - Service was commendable though and a few of the waiters like Radhakrishnan, Ramesh provided excellent service.
Cons: Quality of Food needs to be improved. No running hot water in Spa. There were no BonFires for a whole week even though they promised twice a week.
Location: Nothing much to do nearby as the property is in an isolated location.
A very average stay to sum it up. Property - A very nice property far removed from the bustle of the city. Just about the only plus I must say. Rooms - Rooms are of decent size with good views. But upon checking-in I was told that the Hotel does not provide any toiletries. When I requested for Soaps, Shampoos etc., I was told to use the Shower gel instead. They finally provided me with the items after a lot of haggling. Also, special mention is to be made regarding the soiled and dirty linen/towels that they provided even after repeated complaints. Dining & Restaurant - The quality of food is below par. The breakfast buffet is barely passable and there aren't a lot of options to go A la carte even at dinner time. The dishes are inconsistent. Stayed there for a week and I ordered mutton dishes(Indian) on most of the days and at times I was served a different dish on different days even though I ordered the exact same Mutton Masala. It was also amusing to be told by different waiters that mutton was unavailable on some occasions. They would somehow oblige to check with the chef after I inform them that I did have mutton the previous day. Then there are the live counters that have people apologizing that they would try to make a dosa when you ask for one. Wonder why inexperienced chefs are preparing food that they aren't comfortable with. Service was commendable though and a few of the waiters like Radhakrishnan, Ramesh provided excellent service.