Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Everyoneby Bruno from Wilmington, DE
Great hotel in central locationPosted 12-Jan-2014
Pros: Staff efficiency and friendliness; great location; modern, clean facilities.
Location: Very close to the Vatican, but also to the historic center of Rome, which is just across one of the bridges. We basically walked everywhere.
We loved our time at Hotel Cicerone. It has modern, great facilities, and the location is perfect to go almost anywhere in Rome, plus it is also close to the Piazza Cavour drop-off point for the bus from the airport. Breakfasts are also great, with everyone being friendly and helpful. We did have a large room on the 6th floor, probably larger than the standard rooms, and this probably helped make our time there even better.
for Everyoneby A verified traveller
Cicerone Hotel in RomePosted 04-Nov-2013
Pros: Walking distance to Vatican and Spanish Steps. Morning buffet very good
Location: see above
We only stayed one night but were pleased with the hotel and expereince there - rooms were a little older in style but clean and pleasant , moring buffet which was included in the price was excellent . Front desk staff were friendly and helpful altho on occassion they get into some lengthy discussions amongst themselves about some work issue and you have to wait while that is concluded before they recognize you at the counter
for Everyoneby Mosbo from Tampa, Florida
Rome TripPosted 16-Oct-2013
Cons: TV - older style TV's in room; limited channels available.
Location: Shopping, resturants, historic sights, river within easy walking distance.
Very nice hotel, in great convienent location to the Vatican. Hotel was clean, staff was very responsive and helpful. Numerous shops & resturants close by - easy walking distance. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again.
Recommendedby A verified traveller
Posted 12-Oct-2013 on Hotels.com
by Joe from Florida
Nice hotel, but rude desk clerk ruined my opinion.Posted 05-Oct-2013
Spent two days at the hotel prior to a tour. Nice hotel and nice location. But when I checked out, I was verbally advised of my additional bar purchases which I payed for by credit card. When I was handed the printed statement, I noted that there was a 18,50 Euro charge for a 'Figobar'. When told it was the room mini fridge, I told the clerk I did not know the room even had a mini fridge, let alone use anything from. The clerk then glared at me and said I had already agreed to the charges. I responded that I misunderstood his verbal characterizations of the bar charges, but I was in a hurry to catch a train and let the charge stand. I resent be taken advantage of as a 'dumb' tourist and did not have the time to rectify the situation/charge. Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel.
Recommendedby A verified traveller from Delray Beach, Florida
Posted 26-Sep-2013 on Hotels.com
No problems with our stay at the Cicerone Hotel, Rome, Italy. It is in an ideal location with many optional bus services directly across the street from the hotel. It is in a lively part of Rome and not overly crowded by large tourist groups. There are many independent shops, restaurants, cafes within easily walking distance. O.K with me as it was our third stay at the hotel.
Posted 25-Sep-2013 on Hotels.com
for Personal Eventby JB from New Zeland
HolidayPosted 14-Sep-2013 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable, and it was a great location. Breakfast was good however eggs were often cold so although usually me choice I avoided.
for Everyoneby dOREY from PALM BEACH GARDENS, FLORIDA,USA
REALLY REALLY PLEASEDPosted 24-Aug-2013
Pros: THE BREAKFAST, STAFF, LOCATION
Cons: MAYBE A SHOWER CURTAIR INSTEAD OF THAT GLASS WOBBLY THING THAT LETS THE FLOOR GET ALL WET <3
Location: EVERYTHING IS IN WALKING DISTANCE... SERIOUSLY GREAT LOCATION.
GREAT BREAKFAST BUFFET. REALLY FRIENDLY HELPFUL STALL. BEAUTIFUL BAR AREA ( I DONT DRINK THOUGH) TREES COMING IN FROM FLOOR GOING THROUGH ROOF. REALLY PKRETTY. DID I MENTION THE BREAKFAST:) 4TH FLOOR 2 HOT TUBS VIEW OF ACROPOLIS, 5TH FLOOR ROOF TOP RESTURANT. ROOM TRIES TO BE MODEREN:) GOOD HOT WATER. AIRS GOOD. ASK FOR 2 KEYS THOUGH BC U HAVE TO PLUG THE KEY IN THE WALL FOR THE LIGHTS AND AIR AS SOON AS U TAKE IT OUT THE ELECTRIC SHUTS OFF... SO WE LEFT ONE KEY PLUGGED IN ALL THE TIME. DONT FORGET YOUR PLUG CONVERTER IF U ARE FROM US EXT. REALLY IT'S A GREAT HOTEL I'M VERY PLEASED( IM HARD TO PLEASE;)
by Allen from Philadelphia, PA
Clearly not worthy of a four star ratingPosted 13-Aug-2013
Pros: The neighborhood.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Good location for Vatican, Trastevere, Piazza Espagna and other sites which were in walking distance. There was also a good shopping street.
The hotel struggled with routine issues such as air conditioning not working and wireless not working. We had two rooms. In one the AC worked fine and did not work in the other. The hotel's response was to claim it was working fine. The wireless was out for most if our stay and we paid extra so it was included in the room price. This was "a Swisscom problem" and not their's. even when it was finally fixed 2/3 into our stay it was not working more than it was. The hotel took no responsibility. Finally they recommended a Vatican tour for 61 Euro per person with no lines. However, we were picked up from the hotel at 1:30, were driven all over Rome and didn't start the tour until 4:00. We could have easily walked to the Vatican, waited in a very short line paid 16 Euro per person plus a few Euro to rent a portable speaker to do a self guided tour and would have had a much better experience versus our your guide who was difficult to understand even before the batteries in my receiver went out (they had no replacements available mid tour). I have been to the Vatican several times before and wanted the tour for my son and his friend. Needless to say they did not have a good experience. I heartily recommend you stay elsewhere in Rome!!