Ratings based on 26,899 verified reviews

2.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Tampa

Posted 22-May-2019
Huge line 24 hours a day at check in. Thought I paid everything in advance but charged $35 a day facility fee for nothing. Only some elevators worked so we walked down 10 flights every day because the wait was too long. Complimentary breakfast was lame so we skipped it. No drawers in room so we lived out of suitcase. We are not fussy but crappy room for the price. Gym next door had great equipment but hot hot hot with only water fountain even hotter. Wanted to swim laps but pool was 83 degrees which is great for lounging but too hot to swim laps. Gym was always empty.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 22-May-2019
The downstairs restroom were disgusting and the toilet seats had fecal matter on the toilet on the floor and it was probably the most disgusting hotel bathroom ever I think that you need your cleaning staff Clean rooms better and shampoo carpet. II talk to the other people in the elevators and they thought the same. Poor reputation. Only clean and beautiful was the hotel lobby,
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from South Carolina

Posted 21-May-2019
I liked the location,but they a better system for checking in and some the rooms still haven't beeh remodeled
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 21-May-2019
Elevators were very slow, feels like only two were working. Window didn’t have the type of curtains that blocks sunlight. No mini fridge in room. Was lead to believe there was a pool, there isn’t.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 21-May-2019
Our stay in Hotel Pennsylvania was mostly satisfactory. We liked the central location and the newly renovated room. The price was reasonable There were a few things that need to be improved. The first item that was upsetting was a 45 minute line to check in. Standing that long is very difficult for senior citizens. The sheets on the bed were poor quality and uncomfortable. There were no tissues in the room. The was no chair or desk. I know the floor space was limited but a chair is necessary.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 21-May-2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Ontario

Posted 20-May-2019
The updated rooms are great. The older rooms need to be remodelled.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-May-2019 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review! Our team has heard you, which is why we are hard at work on refresh projects around the property. Just last month, our Penn Plaza Collection rooms were released which include contemporary furnishings, new fittings, carpeting, and HD televisions. Nothing would make us happier than hosting you again to show you all our progress. Until then! Sincerely, Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 20-May-2019
its in the heart of the city, walking distance to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
22-May-2019 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jonalyn, It's a pleasure to know that our beautiful new rooms and convenient location were everything you hoped they'd be! We're happy to be a comfortable home base for your visit to the city, and we were pleased to host you. When your travels return you to us, we'd be thrilled to do it all again. Come back soon! Sincerely, Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 19-May-2019
The room was in a really poor state! Very old and rusted fixtures in bathroom. Bed was pathetic. We cancelled our booking within 15 minutes of checking in.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-May-2019 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your constructive feedback. We are sorry you were not pleased with your room; As our 100-year-old age does show in some rooms, in the future we invite you to try our new Penn Plaza Collection rooms. Hopefully, your trip was delight despite everything and we hope you had a safe journey home. Sincerely, Gene Nicotra, Vice President/General Manager
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 18-May-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
20-May-2019 by Steven F., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Expedia guest reviews. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I notice that you rate us a 1 out of 5 however there were no comments on what you experienced during your stay with us to feel this way. Please let me know how we can improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can redefine your experience at Hotel Pennsylvania. Kind regards, Steven Fennell Director of Front Office